Ship Sanitation Certificates

Port of Vlissingen Ship Sanitation Certificates

From 15 June 2008, it is possible to apply for Ship Sanitation Certificates (SSC) from the Port of Vlissingen authorities. This certificate replaces the Deratting Certificate. The Ship Sanitation Certificate has been a compulsory requirement on board ships sailing in international waters since 15 June 2007 and was introduced to prevent the worldwide spread of infectious diseases.


Applications for Ship Sanitation Certificate inspections can be submitted to the municipal Vlissingen. The municipal Flushing is responsible for issuing Ship Sanitation Certificates.
Inspections are conducted on the basis of requirements laid down by the World Health Organization (WHO) and as incorporated under Dutch Law into the Public Health Act.

Types of certificate

  1. Ship Sanitation Control Exemption Certificate (SSCEC): A ship has been inspected and everything is in order. The ship is then exempt from further sanitary inspections for a period of 6 months;
  2. Ship Sanitation Control Certificate (SSCC): A ship has been inspected and certain shortcomings discovered. The shortcomings are listed on the certificate. These must then be repaired, or otherwise resolved, and resubmitted for inspection;
  3. If due to circumstances a requested inspection cannot be carried out, then an Extension of the Ship Sanitation Control Exemption Certificate (ESSCEC) may be issued in exceptional circumstances. In so doing, a month's respite is granted offering an opportunity to request and conduct a new inspection.

WHO Standards

WHO inspection guidelines stipulate that the following areas of the ship must be in order. The term in order is understood to mean no sign of infection or contamination, which includes vermin in any stage of development. Like animal reservoirs for vermin and pests; microbiological, chemical, radioactive substances or other hazards to human health; and inadequate hygiene measures.

  • Galley and food areas;
  • Pantry and storage rooms;
  • Holds;
  • Officer and crew accommodation;
  • Drinking water;
  • Sewage system;
  • Ballast tanks;
  • Waste (including medical waste);
  • Standing water;
  • Engine room;
  • Medical facilities, swimming pools and spas.

All WHO standards have been included in a Schedule of Requirements. An inspection checklist is provided for the levels required to meet these standards as inspected by the municipal Flushing.

Heeft deze informatie u geholpen?